Home     Articles     News     Forum     Lists     Sport     Movies     Stags     Rankings     Bathurst     Who's hotter?      Profiles     Gallery     Music     Gingers     Funny     Events     Links



Evans replaces Howlett for second test

15 June 2004
Injuries saw All Blacks coach Graham Henry change a winning team for the second rugby test against England at Eden Park on Saturday.

Wing Doug Howlett was missing while flanker Richie McCaw remained a doubtful starter when Henry named his team today following the first test, which New Zealand won 36-3 in Dunedin last Saturday. Howlett missed training in Auckland yesterday because of a shoulder injury sustained in Dunedin. McCaw, who has complained of headaches since the first test, has been bracketed with Marty Holah. Fullback Mils Muliaina was named in Howlett's place, with Nick Evans wearing the No 15 jersey for his first appearance in the starting 15, while veteran first five-eighth Andrew Mehrtens returns to the playing 22 on the reserves bench. Byron Kelleher, who has a hamstring niggle, has been bracketed with Southland's Jimmy Cowan at halfback, and Holah has been bracketed with Craig Newby in the reserves.

The side is:

Nick Evans, Mils Muliaina, Tana Umaga (captain), Daniel Carter, Joe Rokocoko, Carlos Spencer, Justin Marshall, Xavier Rush, Richie McCaw or Marty Holah, Jono Gibbes, Keith Robinson, Chris Jack, Carl Hayman, Keven Mealamu, Kees Meeuws.

Reserves: Sam Tuitupou, Andrew Mehrtens, Byron Kelleher or Jimmy Cowan, Marty Holah or Craig Newby, Jerry Collins, Tony Woodcock, Andrew Hore.

England make six changes for second test

15 June 2004
England today made six changes to their starting 15 for the second and final rugby test against New Zealand at Eden Park here on Saturday.

Winger Tom Voyce, second five-eighth Stuart Abbott and halfback Andy Gomarsall have been included at the expense of James Simpson-Daniel, Mike Catt and Matt Dawson.

In the forwards, hooker Mark Regan, lock Steve Borthwick and blindside flanker Joe Worsley come in for Steve Thompson, Danny Grewcock and Chris Jones.

New Zealand won the first test in Dunedin last Saturday 36-3.

England: Josh Lewsey, Tom Voyce, Mike Tindall (vice-captain), Stuart Abbott, Ben Cohen, Charlie Hodgson, Andy Gomarsall, Lawrence Dallaglio (captain), Richard Hill, Joe Worsley, Steve Borthwick, Simon Shaw, Julian White, Mark Regan, Trevor Woodman.

Reserves: Andy Titterell, Matt Stevens, Danny Grewcock, Michael Lipman, Matt Dawson, Olly Barkley, Fraser Waters.